Help Needed! Harness vs collar

Kona13

Mar 19, 2013
Bulldog(s) Names
Kona
I am trying to teach my 8 week old bully on a leash. He has a collar right now but when I put him on a leash and try to walk him. He would keep on biting the leash and won't walk with me. Should I try a harness?

RAKA Bulldogs

Jan 24, 2013
Alberta, Canada
Bulldog(s) Names
Oscar
Yes, get a harness, collars are really hard on a bully baby's throat (trachea) when it comes to teaching them to walk since you spend most of your time trying to get them to "come along now". Gently pull them to follow and when they do, let up on the leash, when they stop again, gently pull again, and again release the leash when they follow. Repeat, many times! :)

Tkelley

Oct 15, 2012
Phoenix, AZ
Country
USA
Bulldog(s) Names
Lady Guinevere, Little Be
I'm not an expert, Guinevere is my first English bulldog. However, it's my understanding that a harness is better for any short nosed breed because of the difficulty they have with breathing. I'm sure the experienced bully parents will be along soon with their advice!

Feb 19, 2013
Tucson, AZ
Country
USA
Bulldog(s) Names
Miss Georgie Girl
We went through several type of harnesses until we found just the right one. A regular harness would rub under her armpits and it would get sore. I recommend you get the Kurgo brand harness - it won't do that. The front is like a bib and the belt part actually goes around the belly. It is easy to use and doesn't hurt the dog. You can check them out by searching the internet.

RiiSi

Community Veteran
Sep 30, 2011
Sysmä
Country
Finland
Bulldog(s) Names
Taisto, Kylli, Salli, Angel-Usko and Angel-Voitto