SMammers816

Nov 28, 2014
Pennsylvania
Country
USA
Bulldog(s) Names
Gunner, Cooper
Hi Guys... Happy Thursday!
As a few of you may know, we just welcomed Cooper (8 weeks) to our clan this week. WE LOVE HIM!! My 4 year old Gunner... not so much, but that is a different story for a different day.

Cooper's breeder feeds all of her dogs and puppies raw. She has her own raw dog food business in my state. Cooper came home with three (3) two (2) pound containers of the raw mix and I bought twelve (12) more two (2) pound containers to carry on the raw feeding and to see if I like it.

By the time we go home from picking Cooper up, it was lunch time. Out come the first container of food and... BAM! I was knocked over by the smell... like wanted to throw up (almost did) by the smell. Being a complete newbie to raw feeding, I emailed the breeder and asked if it was the tripe in the food that was making it smell this bad and she said yes... Tripe is very pungent (nice way of putting it).

I got to know... is this what all raw feeding smells like?!? I have to be honest, I'm not sure if I can stomach the smell of this food (pun intended :D).

I want to feed the best possible food, but THAT SMELL!!!! I know that raw food is great for dogs... I have done research online and followed along with many of the raw posts here.

On a side note, Gunner is on Grandma Lucy's Pureformance Rabbit formula and is doing great. We were having some problems with allergies and side flank alopecia, but it has cleared up nicely. We give him Claritin each day (especially in the warmer months) as well as Movoflex Joint Supplement and Prebiotic/Probiotic supplement. I will say this... GUNNER POOPS ALOT. I'm assuming its due to the food. That said, I do take him out a lot as well. I work from home and it is easy for me to pop out four or five times throughout the day.

I'd like to know other raw feeders experiences...
Does all raw smell this bad?
Are there other raw brands out there that I should try?