djangosmamma

Mar 10, 2017
Country
USA
Bulldog(s) Names
Django
Hey everyone! Newbie here! ::waves::

I have just started my 1+ bully boy on a raw diet. Everything is going really well, but I am scared to DEATH to give him bones! I'm afraid he'll choke or have some digestive issue. (His jaw alignment is pretty good, but he's definitely an inhaler.) How do you guys do it? Do you cut them up into pieces? I read some people grind them up but...? Sounds like it would require some heavy machinery... Would high grade bone meal be a good substitute for the calcium?

Also, I was thinking giving him a supplement on the side would be good to hedge those nutritional bets. Any suggestions?

Thanks very much!

helsonwheels

Jan 10, 2016
Alberta
Country
Canada
Bulldog(s) Names
Nyala, Jake (R.I.P. Duke)
Hello newbie and welcome to EBN!! Let me tag someone that feeds his dogs raw. There are also others will help you. [MENTION=15364]oscarmayer[/MENTION]

RiiSi

Community Veteran
Sep 30, 2011
Sysmä
Country
Finland
Bulldog(s) Names
Taisto, Kylli, Salli, Angel-Usko and Angel-Voitto
How are you feeding the bone matter? Some dogs have Will learn to chew before swallowing and some don't. Some Will swallow big chunks, regurgitate and chew and eat again. That's ok if YOU can stomach it...I can't So I buy bone matter that has Been grind.

OP
D

djangosmamma

Mar 10, 2017
Country
USA
Bulldog(s) Names
Django
Re: Raw Feeding & Bones ?!!

Well, I haven't tried bone matter at all yet. Wanted to get some input on the matter. :)

We've been doing the diet for about a week now. I was mixing raw chicken, yogurt, broccoli, coconut oil, with his kibble. Just today we've gone to a kibble free bowl, and so far so good.

So butchers sell ground bones? I will have to investigate that in my area. Thanks!!!

- - - Updated - - -

Thank you very much!!! :)

OP
D

djangosmamma

Mar 10, 2017
Country
USA
Bulldog(s) Names
Django