Alternative to chicken

Gomer9855

Sep 28, 2015
Country
Canada
Bulldog(s) Names
none yet
Hi there. I'm looking after my friends bulldogs for an undetermined amount of time. I've switched them to raw as my friend always had allergy issues with them. So far so good except that one seems allergic to chicken (hotspots and goopy eyes). I've been feeding raw for 11 years and haven't had a dog allergic to it before. Especially not chicken, which is such a key component. So should I try turkey or some other poultry, or is this likely a poultry itself allergy? What do I do for bone/calcium is she can't have birds?

Vikinggirl

Norwegian Rose
Community Veteran
Oct 8, 2012
Burlington, ON Canada
Country
Canada
Bulldog(s) Names
Bulldozer and Blossom
Hi, I don't have experience with feeding a raw diet, but I do have experience with allergies. Many EBs are allergic to chicken, and will show the same symptoms that you describe. Goopy eyes, itchy paws, yeasty ears, excessive licking of paws are all signs of allergies. The only way to determine what is causing the allergies is by trail and error, and elimination. You won't know what he's allergic to until you try different proteins and see which ones aren't tolerated.
Turkey, duck, or other birds may also cause a reaction, or you might try fish or beef instead. You can get calcium from crushed egg shells. Put the egg and shells in the food and crush the shells really fine, they are a good source of calcium.

izstigspunks

Sep 16, 2010
Toronto, Ontario
Country
Canada
Bulldog(s) Names
The Stig Racecar Driver and (Sweet Angel) Punkin Brutus
It should be ok to try duck or turkey, they seem alike, but they're different in terms of rawfeeding. There's also rabbit and goat.

Are you adding anything to the chicken meals? If so, eliminate those for now. Treats, as well, even if they're small amounts.