Turkey or ?

Twice

My Bully Gave Me Wings
Feb 3, 2012
Woodbridge Township, NJ
Bulldog(s) Names
Abby (my Sweetie Head 10.24.11-11.23.12) and Otis
Abby has been eating these turkey pattys for a week now with no problems! No vomiting, no diarrhea, no loose stools or constipation and most importantly... NO SHIVERS!!! I can't get her in to her IMS until Monday so I haven't had her blood tested yet but the shivering means her numbers are high so no shivers leads me to think they are good (or at least as good as they get for her)

I have one patty left for tomorrow so I have to go buy more. My question is should I stick with the turkey? I know the whole if it ain't broke, don't fix it thing but I'm thinking about her nutritional needs. I know some dogs eat the same kibble for their entire lives but I have zero experience with raw. Is it different? So putting aside her kidney issues, is it a good idea to stick with one protein source or should I give her different ones? They have chicken, turkey, beef, lamb and fish. Should I try another one or stick with what we know works?

cowsmom

Apr 27, 2011
Virginia
Country
usa
Bulldog(s) Names
Sarah aka cow
well im no raw expert but since youve just used the one pack and with abbys situation maybe stick with the turkey for another round then maybe when she is settled on it and its not causing any problems go with something else. just my 2 cents.

RiiSi

Community Veteran
Sep 30, 2011
Sysmä
Country
Finland
Bulldog(s) Names
Taisto, Kylli, Salli, Angel-Usko and Angel-Voitto
For nutritional purposes there should be at least 3 protein sources. But in the beginning it is good to start with one and stick with that about 2 weeks and them introduce something else and something similar is the best bet so that would be chicken. And I would stay away from high purine meats, so then the third protein source could be lamb. I don't know about the patties, but check that they don't have organs.

Davidh

Head Pooper Scooper
Staff member