Clivey

Jul 22, 2018
Country
United Kingdom
Bulldog(s) Names
Clive
Hi! I'm very new to this :yes:

We have a 4 month old bully, Clive. He's such a good boy and like most, has a great appetite!

When we brought him home, we continued him on the kibble the breeder was feeding him until the bag ran out. We weren't keen on this brand of kibble so we then decided to put him on Royal Canin Junior (for bulldogs) after reading such good reviews. The first week he was fine, the second week however, we noticed he started to itch his ears and chew his paws. He also has very small hive-like bumps under his furr on his back and in his groin. He then started to have very runny stools, a runny nose and was being lethargic. We put him on a bland diet of rice and chicken which seems to have done the trick, just after a day, he was back to normal. I then slowly introduced the kibble back into his diet (to test) and the same symptoms occurred; this has confirmed to me that he doesn't agree with the kibble.

After extensive research, I've decided to batch cook at home for him (not raw, although I will after 1 year). I have two questions for experienced owners out there:

1. Any tips on home cooking? I want to use coconut oil as a supplement but interested to see what others use for fat/nutrients/calcium?

2. Has anyone experienced the above symptoms from Kibble/Royal Canin?

Thanks very much and I look forward to your responses!!

J

Hankster

Community Veteran
Aug 27, 2016
Country
US
Bulldog(s) Names
hank
Your doing such a good job and ............ a few of us home cooked for a good while and have now gone to raw as well :) Some did the whole home cooking thing, and some of us used things like the 'honest kitchen' as the base and went from there. I'll let others with LOTS of experience help you out though. But in the meantime ;) Welcome :)

Cbrugs

Administrator
Community Veteran
Dec 9, 2016
Seattle, WA
Country
United States
Bulldog(s) Names