Help can i leave carbs out of home cooking?

Bendy

Feb 23, 2014
Country
England
Bulldog(s) Names
Spike
Hi everyone, I'm a newbie from the uk and could really do with some help. I have a 16 month old bulldog named spike. Up until June he was was being fed on royal cannin bulldog until they changed the formula and that's when are problems began we have try'd various different foods without success, we have recently had him allergy tested and it turns out there is no commercial dog food in the uk that spike can have, he's allergic to: rice, corn, wheat, yeast, oats, peas, white fish and blue fish. His allergy symptoms are itching, hind leg and paw licking, red eyes, pimples under his chin and he smells! Due to his smell I am wondering if he's got a yeast problem as well. For the past 2 weeks I've been feeding him a cooked diet which so far he seems to be doing ok, but I'm struggling with the carb side, I don't want to keep giving him white potato or sweet potato just in case he builds an allergen to them, I was wondering if I could just give him meat & veg for a couple of weeks, and if so how much meat and how much veg per serving? He weighs around 48lb and I feed him twice a day, I'm supplementing his diet with multivitamins, salmon oil and ground egg shell. I would really appreciate some help and ideasxx

2BullyMama

I'm not OCD....now who moved my bulldog?
Staff member
Community Veteran
Jul 28, 2011
Gilbertsville, PA
Country
USA
Bulldog(s) Names
Chelios (Frenchie), Nitschke (2004-2011) Banks (2005-2014) and Lambeau (2014-2024)
:hiya: and welcome to EBN..... if he 'smell' and you suspect yeats (corn chips smell)... stop the white potato, they do add to the yeast issue. Add some Apple Cider vinager to his water to help and you can also use it as a rinse on his fur to help with the yeatsies.

I tagged some members that do home cook and/or feed raw -- they may be able to give you some guideance.

good luck and please post some pictures of your boy

bullmama