Leasing vs financing - What's your preference?

izstigspunks

Sep 16, 2010
Toronto, Ontario
Country
Canada
Bulldog(s) Names
The Stig Racecar Driver and (Sweet Angel) Punkin Brutus
Thinking of getting a new car. Would you lease or finance? I was more into financing because, in the end, it's cheaper. But now more leaning towards leasing to free up some cash flow. It's tough growing up! :yes:

L

Lucy-licious

Not sure if leasing would work the same there as here but I lease and it's super good.
I have 1 payment a month, my car is maintained for me services, repairs etc...it's insured for both me and Chris and it's taxed for me too. I have a Mini Cooper S and had I bought it myself and taxed and insured it etc it would cost me £1,800 a year more :)
I love it too best car ever :)

RescueMe

Community Veteran
Mar 2, 2011
Chaffee, MO
Bulldog(s) Names
Lola Blue, Mojo Titus and Gracie,Caleb, Bogart and Ziggy forever in my heart Roxy and Rollo
I used to work in the car business. I prefer leasing and the only way you get penalized on the mileage is if 1) You stop leasing the car and go somewhere else to get another car or 2) If you stop leasing and dont purchase the car or get another lease. Does that make sense?

To better explain: Say you lease a car and at the end of 36 mos, you dont lease another car or purchase the lease one then you would have to pay for overages on your miles.

If you have any more questions, let me know.
I think Im gonna lease my next one.

RescueMe

Community Veteran
Mar 2, 2011
Chaffee, MO
Bulldog(s) Names
Lola Blue, Mojo Titus and Gracie,Caleb, Bogart and Ziggy forever in my heart Roxy and Rollo
And Im pretty sure you dont pay personal property taxes yearly on leases.

GatorRay

I am in total control....I think
Feb 25, 2011
Louisville, KY
Bulldog(s) Names
Gator & Lucy Goosey, the Basset and Gigi (AKA Gypsy)