Texas Carol....put the heart in EBN
Community Veteran
Jul 4, 2012
Central Texas
Country
USA
Bulldog(s) Names
Brutus & Cami live in Heaven
Asthma, or allergy and the like doesn't matter. Controlled breathing doesn't cause asthma or anything like that. When you're having an asthma attack, you naturally go into this controlled breathing mode especially when you use an inhaler. So, having a panic attack is just like getting asthma - you bring all your focus and energies into controlling that breathing.

Panic attack - or, I should go back to what I'm an expert at, rage - is the body's inability to gain control due to a chemical imbalance that causes an extreme physiological reaction to normal, or just slightly abnormal stimuli. To regain control, we start with something that is relatively easy to control - breathing. Breathing also has the added benefit of circulating oxygenated blood which aids in speeding up the body's natural inclination to regain balance. Being able to control breathing (relatively easier than trying to control the rage itself) gives the brain the opportunity to get back into the driver seat.

Having your boyfriend give you a center to regain balance is great. But, this can become a crutch. This will make it so that you will become helpless if your boyfriend is out of reach.

@anatess is giving you great information, boyfriend or someone is not always going to be
there, YOU must learn the triggers and WHAT works to help you regain control, as many
have said already, proper breathing is very helpful, yoga, meditation, focusing on specific
objects or subjects, visualization...many things.

I had panic attacks, anxiety & dxed w/PTSD so I know how horrible it is for you.

Will lift you in prayer for complete healing of these episodes, GOD be with you & for you!

OP
PsychoPixie

PsychoPixie

Feb 16, 2013
U.P of MI
Bulldog(s) Names
Eloise M.Wigglebottom
Thanks guys =)