Training Collars?

Are shock/training collars a humaine way to train your pet?

• yes, they work excellent and do not hurt your pet

Votes: 3 18.8%
  • no, it is not necessary to use such torture devices

Votes: 13 81.3%

• Total voters

bullmama

Owner/Administrator
Staff member
Community Veteran
Jan 28, 2010
Tucson, Arizona
Country
USA
Bulldog(s) Names
The Home of the Desert Sky Pack
What does everyone think of training collars?

I have never used them before, and I am curious of what other peoples thoughts are on them.

I have heard mixed advice on these, so that is why I am asking my bully loving friends!

Is it a humaine way to train, or not? :confused:

Last edited:

froggz

Mar 30, 2010
Iowa
Bulldog(s) Names
Sadie
There are a few different types out there. I'm not a big fan of using the chain or prong style collars, they have to be pretty uncomfortable.

I am however a big fan of martingale style collars. They are basically a flat style collar that has the D ring attachment on a loop, that when pulled squeezes the collar tighter but it releases as soon as the dog stops pulling. They are also excellent for dogs that like to back out of collars.

I also LOVE the mendota british style slip leads. They are alot like the simple slip leads used by vets and shelters. The mendotas are typically much tougher and made with softer fabrics. They have a stop to keep the ring from sliding too far open and they release quickly when the dog stops pulling.

There are also headcollars like the Halti but I really dont know if I can see one of those staying on a bully's short nose!

I'm not a fan at all of the shock, noise and spray collars. Most times they are used improperly and the end result is worse than the reason the collar was used. The only one I see that should be used is the noise or spray bark collars. But the dog learns that as soon as the collar is off there is no repercussion.

reginaagnew

Jun 28, 2010
Bulldog(s) Names
mimzy and gwendolyn