Buying a Bulldog for the first time..

Saporito09

May 11, 2011
I am wanting to buy my first bulldog. The only problem is that I cannot find any under $1,000. Since I am a college student I can't afford to pay that much. Should I give up on trying to find one for around $500?...

Mack-N-MatildasMommy

Bulldog Spoiler
Community Veteran
Apr 3, 2011
Moore, OK
Country
USA
Bulldog(s) Names
Matilda A.K.A Sassy Pants & Mighty Mack A.K.A. Fat Peanut
Hi and welcome!! Have you considered Adoption?? There are plenty of bullies of all ages looking for forever homes.

OP
S

Saporito09

May 11, 2011
My parents are going to help with with providing for the dog but they want me to pay for it myself. As a way of showing that it is a big responsibility and knowing how much I am going to have to put into him/her.

Katie9449

May 2, 2011
Florida
Bulldog(s) Names
Diesel Tank
I will just be honest with you...if you are able to find a bully for $500 then you will spend a TON of money on vet bills. Unless it is a rescue dog which is a great way to do a great thing. You need to research breeders A LOT and not just impulse buy one. There are tons of people who sell these guys unhealthy and a mess just to make some fast cash. It is terrible what happens to this breed b/c people go into it and don't think it through. I would continue to save and buy one from a reputable breeder that will allow you a higher chance of a healthy bully baby. Just research and research some more...

kim n the guys

Community Veteran
Apr 3, 2011
Holt, MI
Country
United States
Bulldog(s) Names
Oliver, Sebastian, Remy, Gracie, and Tonka (10-21-07 to 05-29-14 RIP)