Introducing a new littermate to an adult male

AKbully

Aug 15, 2019
Country
Usa
Bulldog(s) Names
Cooper
Hi everyone. I just wanted to get some input on knowing when the right time is to introduce a puppy. Cooper is now a little over a year old and loves other dogs and people. Our ā€œbreederā€ recommended we purchase another puppy for him before he is 2 years old. Is that a hard and fast rule? Iā€™m in Alaska so there are very few reputable breeders here, which means weā€™d have to go ā€œoutsideā€ to bring home a puppy. We do however want to take our time and not rush into a breeder that we do not know. I guess my question is how long is too long to wait?

cefe13

Sep 12, 2013
Country
Sweden
Bulldog(s) Names
Castor (2013-2021 RIP)
Although I have no experience of more than one dog in the household, my guess is that there are no rules but that it depends on the dog and owner how that works out!

Rod52

Feb 26, 2015
New York
Country
United States
Bulldog(s) Names
Cookie
I have a two female english bulldogs 6yrs old and 1 yr old the oldest gets tired out by the youngest one then wants to sleep my youngest has lot of energy. Sometimes she ends up playing by herself. Im contemplating about getting a male but I know three will be alot of work

Sent from my SM-N975U1 using Tapatalk

Cbrugs

Administrator
Community Veteran
Dec 9, 2016
Seattle, WA
Country
United States
Bulldog(s) Names
King Louie, Jax (French Bulldog), Ella Mae and Darla Rae
So I brought in Louie when Jax (French Bulldog) was 4 and it was not love at first site. Louie was full of energy and bugged Jax but Jax tolerated him. Jax is now 7 and Louie is 3. In January I brought home a puppy, Ella. She is quite energetic and will tire Louie out. Jax will play when he feels like it.

I honestly donā€™t think there is a cutoff age as to when to bring another puppy home. Itā€™s more dependent on the personalities of all dogs involved.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Mom of Tucker

Jun 22, 2015
Texas
Country