Thread: Special Bulldog colors?

Pooper scooper
    Country
    United States
    Bulldog(s) Names
    Angus and Brando
    Likes (Received)

Default Special Bulldog colors?

I belong to a couple of bulldogs for sale groups on facebook and one of them is for "rare" colors. I don't get it. Why are colors that are not accepted for the show ring, so desirable and so costly? It just doesn't make any sense to me why these colors are going for huge bucks. And my question is out of ignorance for the subject, not trying to put down owners of these rare color bulldogs. Thanks.

Feed Store Operator
    Real Name
    Kim
    Country
    United States
    Bulldog(s) Names
    Tiger - Ty
    Trophies
    Likes (Received)

Default Re: Special Bulldog colors?

I'm no expert thats for sure, but I know someone who has raised and trained champion German Shepherd Dogs, when I asked him one day about white GSD's he said they are considered "culls" because they're not recognized by AKC or CKC, but when you see ad's they are described as "party colored" or "Rare" and the price will be almost double of the traditional coated dog.

I think these people are just looking for $$$$$$$$$$$$$, a fast buck.

3. Likes oscarmayer, 2BullyMama liked this post
    Have Bulldog Will Travel Become a 4 Paw Member
    I Have Earned Community Veteran Status!
    Need help with the forums?  Contact me!
    Real Name
    Chip
    Country
    United States
    Bulldog(s) Names
    Zoey, Lala, Pippy, and MINI
    Trophies
    Likes (Received)

The colors were bred out because of the undesirable genetic traits inherent to them. Bulldogs in designer colors are predisposed to having "mechanical flaws"...whether it be faulty ears, eyes, joints, bone structure, heart, spine, digestive...etc, etc, etc...possibly even temperament. This is not to say that all designer bulldogs will have health issues.