Special Bulldog colors?

haile2066

Nov 1, 2017
Country
United States
Bulldog(s) Names
Angus and Brando
I belong to a couple of bulldogs for sale groups on facebook and one of them is for "rare" colors. I don't get it. Why are colors that are not accepted for the show ring, so desirable and so costly? It just doesn't make any sense to me why these colors are going for huge bucks. And my question is out of ignorance for the subject, not trying to put down owners of these rare color bulldogs. Thanks.

Clermont

Oct 20, 2015
Georgia
Country
United States
Bulldog(s) Names
Tiger - Ty
I'm no expert thats for sure, but I know someone who has raised and trained champion German Shepherd Dogs, when I asked him one day about white GSD's he said they are considered "culls" because they're not recognized by AKC or CKC, but when you see ad's they are described as "party colored" or "Rare" and the price will be almost double of the traditional coated dog.

I think these people are just looking for $$$$$$$$$$$$$, a fast buck.

oscarmayer

Have Bulldog Will Travel
Staff member
Jan 20, 2016
VA
Country
United States
Bulldog(s) Names
Lala, Chesty, Winky, Waggles, Moose, and rescue Peggy(soon to be placed)
The colors were bred out because of the undesirable genetic traits inherent to them. Bulldogs in designer colors are predisposed to having "mechanical flaws"...whether it be faulty ears, eyes, joints, bone structure, heart, spine, digestive...etc, etc, etc...possibly even temperament. This is not to say that all designer bulldogs will have health issues.