Reggietheveggie

Nov 6, 2017
Country
England
Bulldog(s) Names
Reginald
Hi I'm very new to this as I only bought my bulldog 3 days ago! He's 11 weeks old & he's been fed on royal canin.. (which I've heard bad things about) but I'm just keeping him on what the breeder had him on.. but I've noticed he had a rash/red bumps on his neck which don't seem to bother him & the vet said it's a kind of dermatitis and gave me some wipes.. but now I'm noticing he's chewing his foot and scratching his ear & waking up with a runny nose and eyes! So I'm leaning more towards it's an allergic reaction to something.. but I don't know what? I'm guessing the food.. but the the breeder said he was fine on it before.. but as he's new to my house I'm wondering if it's something here.. I can't ween him off the food yet as he's still settling in too.. my poor baby! Any help or advice would really help! Thank you guys! X

Attachments

• IMG_0263.JPG
    IMG_0263.JPG
    1.5 MB · Views: 174

oscarmayer

Have Bulldog Will Travel
Staff member
Jan 20, 2016
VA
Country
United States
Bulldog(s) Names
Lala, Chesty, Winky, Waggles, Moose, and rescue Peggy(soon to be placed)
What kind of RC is he eating? The Bulldog Puppy formula' Primary ingredients are Chicken, Rice and Wheat. Chicken is not well-tolerated by some Bulldogs and wheat is bad for all Bulldogs, IMO. Avoid Wheat Corn and Soy in any dog food. I wouldn't worry too much about a "slow transition" to another food(better food) if your puppy is already having issues...just go for it. And if his stool is a little loose for a few days, don't worry. It will firm up soon enough.
What kind of food bowls is your little nugget eating/drinking from? Plastic bowls are easily scratched and can harbor bacteria causing sores around the face and neck. Stick with glazed ceramic or even better, Stainless Steel.

OP
Reggietheveggie

Reggietheveggie

Nov 6, 2017
Country
England
Bulldog(s) Names
Reginald