mikeyjm26

Sep 15, 2016
Glasgow
Country
United Kingdom
Bulldog(s) Names
None yet
Hi guys,

I am looking at getting EBD but not a puppy, looking at ones from 6 months to 3 years old. Do you think it would be fine to rename or is it a bad idea? I am new to EBD scene and just trying to find out as many things as possible first before taking the plunge.

Thanks in advance

Mikey

1Chumly

Feb 19, 2015
Houston, TX
Country
From England
Bulldog(s) Names
Buster 2013-2023 Monty 6/2010 - 1/2020 Chumly 2002-2014
We renamed Monty when we got him and he was 4 yrs old. It was close to his previous name which he didn't answer to anyway so we figured WTH! Stray dogs that are rescued get new names with no problems. It may just take a little while for the dog to get used to it, that's all.

OP
M

mikeyjm26

Sep 15, 2016
Glasgow
Country
United Kingdom
Bulldog(s) Names
None yet
Thanks for that, just wanted to make sure it was not something that was a no no.

ddnene

EBN's SWEETHEART aka our little GOOB
Staff member
Jun 19, 2013
Nashville, Tennessee
Country
USA
Bulldog(s) Names
Willow (2015) Walter (2014-22) Winston (2012-13) Wellie (2012-13) Bella (2007-13)
:welcome2: to EBN!!! Thank you for choosing to adopt an EBD, so many are in rescues and need a new home. Many people on here have adopted and changed the name of their new baby, so I don't see it as an issue at all... Good Luck!!!

Biscuitsmom

Mar 14, 2016
Richmond VA
Country
USA
Bulldog(s) Names
Biscuit
Sure why not, but depends too on if the dog really responds or not. We got a 1 year old rescue and kept her name but then again I got a 5 year old horse and changed hers (not quite the same) but they named her scrapple, who does that?? I changed it to Lacy lol.

natski282

Dog Hoarder
May 27, 2013
Barrys Bay Ont Canada
Country
Canada
Bulldog(s) Names
Megan = Meg,