Advice when girl gos in heat

beckylu00

Apr 29, 2014
This is ny first time having a girl dog. She 6 months. I want to know if any of u have advice for me or recommend any book i can read up on. I need to know what to expect when she in heat. Im new at this. Thank you
71550bca369136fd898f9e4a1219da71.jpg

2BullyMama

I'm not OCD....now who moved my bulldog?
Staff member
Community Veteran
Jul 28, 2011
Gilbertsville, PA
Country
USA
Bulldog(s) Names
Chelios (Frenchie), Cubby (Frenchie) Nitschke (2004-2011) Banks (2005-2014) and Lambeau (2014-2024)
what a cutie pie... I have no experience with a heat cycle but will tag a few members to help

Manydogs

Community Veteran
May 2, 2013
Tennessee
Country
U.S.A.
Bulldog(s) Names
Maudee,MarthaKatie,Lizzie,Bro.Mini
Hello! [MENTION=11734]beckylu00[/MENTION] I think your girl is beautiful! If you are not planning on breeding her, the best thing to do is have her spayed-before she comes in heat. If not,
At first you may notice a small discharge,and licking herself(if she can reach there) usually during the second week,perhaps sooner you will be seeing a bloody discharge.Her vulva will swell, and sometimes they become extremely swollen-this is preparing them to accept the male. Some dogs show little blood, and some I have had that were not spayed,bled extremely heavy. Their heat cycle usually lasts about three weeks, but do not have her around any males, until 4 weeks. I know from an experience that after the third week-a pregnancy CAN happen! You can make diapers, or buy panties to put on them when they are in heat. Some females get very whiney, or "bitchy" or just plain miserable when they are in heat, and others not so much. It's the hormones,and natures way of telling them that "they are in love"
with someone!??? It can be a pain in the neck-so if not breeding-spay is the way. I have 4 females, and they are all spayed.