The Ultimate Sourmug Become a 4 Paw Member
    I Have Earned Community Veteran Status!
    Need help with the forums?  Contact me!
    Bulldog(s) Names
    The Stig Racecar Driver and Punkin Brutus
    Likes (Received)
    Blog Entries

Default When should a bully reach his adult weight

I'm wondering because Stig has stopped gaining weight and leveled at approx 47 lbs for about a month now. He just turned 10 months.

As some may remember, he was quite a porker when we brought him home @ 5 months. He weighed 43 lbs then.

He's getting 'wider', but hasn't really gained weight. Should his daily food ration increase? His ribs don't show when he stands.

Bulldog(s) Names
    Hudson
    Likes (Received)

Default Re: When should a bully reach his adult weight

I'm not sure of the answer - I'm no expert. Hudson's our first bully (and our first dog), and he's at his 55 lb mark. The vet said no more weight and switched him to adult food.
    It sounds like he's close to standard weight, which I believe is 50-55 lbs. But you can always check with your vet for a final call. Ours encouraged us not to get stuck on the "big" bulldog sterotype.

BullyWood Movie Star Become a 4 Paw Member
    Country
    United States
    Bulldog(s) Names
    Bentley, Linus, Truman
    Likes (Received)

Mine didn't fully fill out to adult size until 18 months. They gained most of their weight by 10 months but really continued to fill out in the head and chest.

Bentley was about 57 pounds at 10 months but topped out around 62 pounds once he was all filled out.

Linus was always big. He was 60 pounds at 7 months and topped out at 80 pounds around 18 months, once his chest and head filled out to adult size.

Truman is 49 pounds at 8.5 months but to look at him, you can tell he's got a ways to go - he's still disproportionate.

So I would not expect to see Stiggy gain a lot more weight but I would expect a few more pounds as he fills out to his adult size.