When should a bully reach his adult weight

izstigspunks

Sep 16, 2010
Toronto, Ontario
Country
Canada
Bulldog(s) Names
The Stig Racecar Driver and (Sweet Angel) Punkin Brutus
I'm wondering because Stig has stopped gaining weight and leveled at approx 47 lbs for about a month now. He just turned 10 months.

As some may remember, he was quite a porker :p when we brought him home @ 5 months. He weighed 43 lbs then.

He's getting 'wider', but hasn't really gained weight. Should his daily food ration increase? His ribs don't show when he stands.

ILuvHudson

Jan 19, 2011
PA
Bulldog(s) Names
Hudson
I'm not sure of the answer - I'm no expert. Hudson's our first bully (and our first dog), and he's at his 55 lb mark. The vet said no more weight and switched him to adult food.
It sounds like he's close to standard weight, which I believe is 50-55 lbs. But you can always check with your vet for a final call. Ours encouraged us not to get stuck on the "big" bulldog sterotype. :whistle:

sheshistory

Jul 11, 2010
Vermont
Country
United States
Bulldog(s) Names
Bentley, Linus, Truman
Mine didn't fully fill out to adult size until 18 months. They gained most of their weight by 10 months but really continued to fill out in the head and chest.

Bentley was about 57 pounds at 10 months but topped out around 62 pounds once he was all filled out.

Linus was always big. :bully: He was 60 pounds at 7 months and topped out at 80 pounds around 18 months, once his chest and head filled out to adult size.

Truman is 49 pounds at 8.5 months but to look at him, you can tell he's got a ways to go - he's still disproportionate.

So I would not expect to see Stiggy gain a lot more weight but I would expect a few more pounds as he fills out to his adult size.

Alice Kable

Community Veteran
Dec 17, 2010
Joseph, Oregon, United States
Bulldog(s) Names
Ruggles and Buster