Ad0rabull

Dec 11, 2014
Ohio
Country
USA
Bulldog(s) Names
Princess Millie
I have been searching for a reputable breeder for a while now, and I think I may have finally found one (I had a deposit down on a puppy before, but I got some weird vibes so I pulled the plug). I have wanted a bulldog since I was a little girl so I want to make sure I do this right. The last thing I want to do is support a back-yard-breeder or a puppy mill, but this is my first time buying a puppy so I'm not exactly sure what to look for in a breeder so I would love to hear some opinions.

The breeder that I'm considering is the only one to ask me questions about myself, my home, and my experience with bulldogs. All of the other breeders didn't ask me anything at all, they just told me where to send the money. She requires that her puppies' new owners administer NuVet vitamins for the first year and she will extend the health guarantee for an additional year (a total of 2 years) if the NuVet supplements are continued. She also has a spay/neuter claus in the puppy contract which I think is awesome! She doesn't begin "advertising" her puppies until they are 4 months old. She screens for genetic health and offers vet references.

Does she sound like a good breeder? Here's a screenshot of her listing. I think she sounds pretty great, but is there anything else I should be looking for in a breeder? Screen Shot 2014-12-20 at 11_Fotor.jpg

nycbullymama

Dec 22, 2012
Country
usa
Bulldog(s) Names
b and w
The spay/neuter part is standard, the rest.. well, she definitely said all the right things..lol

Since she said she screens for health, I'd check with OFA (Orthopedic Foundation for Animals).
Just go to their site and enter the dam, and/ or sires name. If they're listed, check what they were tested for and make sure it's the usual bulldog health issues.
If not, then I'd ask her why not since the OFA database is used by breeders.

youmommasboy

Dec 22, 2014
Country
USA
Bulldog(s) Names
Butkus