Spay question?

meganmarie

Sep 29, 2014
Pennsylvania
Country
US
Bulldog(s) Names
Ella Grace
I'm still new to all this bullie health risk stuff and I haven't found any posts regarding my question.

Ella is 2.5 years old. I don't know her history regarding medical care as she's a puppy mill rescue and they weren't very forth coming with info to begin with. She isn't fixed, but at this age what are the pros and cons with getting her spayed? I just got her, I don't want to lose her. When we take her out she is strictly on a leash and supervised at all times and we have no intact males in my household. I'm just not sure, all I've read are how eb go into surgery and don't come out :(

ddnene

EBN's SWEETHEART aka our little GOOB
Staff member
Jun 19, 2013
Nashville, Tennessee
Country
USA
Bulldog(s) Names
Willow (2015) Walter (2014-22) Winston (2012-13) Wellie (2012-13) Bella (2007-13)
:welcome2: to EBN!!!

I would say the first thing you need to do is find a GOOD bully vet. I will post a link of recommendations on here…
It's not so much the surgery that causes issues, but since EBD's have compromise breathing and that makes anesthesia very tricky for this breed. I will tag some members who have dealt w/spaying their females so that you can get their opinions… I know that spaying decreases the risks of cancer and tumors.
http://www.englishbulldognews.com/c...ews-Recommended-English-Bulldog-Veterinarians

ahnotty

Sep 12, 2014
Arizone
Country
United States
Bulldog(s) Names
Tebow
Also reduce the risk of pyometria, which is basicly an infection of the uterus and can be fatal

Manydogs

Community Veteran
May 2, 2013
Tennessee
Country
U.S.A.
Bulldog(s) Names
Maudee,MarthaKatie,Lizzie,Bro.Mini