kat76

Jun 25, 2014
Salt Lake City, Utah
Country
USA
Bulldog(s) Names
Princess Fiona Harley
Hi everyone,
Can u tell us when and what to expect when Harley goes into heat her first time? She is 5 months old today. I have never even had a female dog so I am really green!
Thank you

2BullyMama

I'm not OCD....now who moved my bulldog?
Staff member
Community Veteran
Jul 28, 2011
Gilbertsville, PA
Country
USA
Bulldog(s) Names
Chelios (Frenchie), Nitschke (2004-2011) Banks (2005-2014) and Lambeau (2014-2024)
I tagged a few members for you... I have no experience with this as I had Banks spay done before her first heat

aprilemari

Community Veteran
Sep 11, 2011
Boston, MA
Country
USA
Bulldog(s) Names
Lola & Fox
I don't know either, we had Lola spayed before her first heat thankfully. Folks will chime in.

sent from my droid mini

Vikinggirl

Norwegian Rose
Community Veteran
Oct 8, 2012
Burlington, ON Canada
Country
Canada
Bulldog(s) Names
Bulldozer and Blossom
Hi Kat, every dog is different and it is also different for different breeds. Smaller breeds usually go Into heat earlier than a large dog. The average age for a dog to go Into heat is 5 to 6 months of age, a female will have a heat every 6 to 8 months, and it usually lasts about a week.

OP
K

kat76

Jun 25, 2014
Salt Lake City, Utah
Country
USA
Bulldog(s) Names
Princess Fiona Harley
Thanks to all of you for taking the time to respond, I really do appreciate it. Hopefully one day I will be able to answer a question instead of just ask them lol!!

bullmama

Owner/Administrator
Staff member
Community Veteran
Jan 28, 2010
Tucson, Arizona
Country
USA
Bulldog(s) Names
The Home of the Desert Sky Pack
Thanks to all of you for taking the time to respond, I really do appreciate it. Hopefully one day I will be able to answer a question instead of just ask them lol!!

Check out the new FAQ forum, your input would be great!