So, mom messed up and it could have killed my boy.

BoldDeGuard

Aug 4, 2014
Montana
Country
USA
Bulldog(s) Names
Sir BoldDeGuard
And I'm feeling pretty lousy. I thought I'd share for any new Bully parents out there so they can be warned.

EBN has been very clear about what chews are and are not safe as well as his breeder. I studied and did my due dilligence and I was feeling very safe from worry about choking.

Well, he got into Bells toy box and I guess I didn't clean the dangerous items out of her box and I should have.

Yesterday I put the little man in his xpen so I could get some cleaning done. I was in the kitchen and he in the living room when I heard a vomiting sound. I peaked around the corner to find him pawing at his mouth with both paws, rolling his head back and laying on his side. Fortunately for us both, due to the way my house is built I was able to hear him and get to him in time.

I grabbed the little guy and found he was choking on a pig ear remnant. It was about an inch wide and 4 inches long and he had completely swallowed all but a 1/2 inch. I was able to clear his air way right away and he was fine.

But it put the fear of god into me. I went though the house this morning, checking under beds and looking in closets and have found close to a dozen choking hazards my Lab has stashed around the house.

Ugh, this sucked and I hope I never have to go through this again. I hope this will help someone else keep their babies safe as well. .It happened so fast.

rjisaterp

Community Veteran
Apr 18, 2014
Somewhere in the Universe. Really Maryland.
Country
USA
Bulldog(s) Names
Cooper, Jewel (April 27, 2013-May 7, 2022-RIPDaddy's Girl) and (Bentley Oct 2013-Dec 2021)
Don't feel lousy. Feel good. You were right on point and kept you little around.

We watch our kids all the time and they still find stuff to put in there mouths.

Great job and don't feel lousy.

Opie CHL

Dec 4, 2012
Patchogue, NY
Country
USA
Bulldog(s) Names
Chumley and Hershey