Brilloluna

Jul 20, 2014
Northern California
Country
USA
Bulldog(s) Names
Cricket (2014-) Willa: (2001-2013)
Hi-
I'm going rafting/kayaking next month. It's with a German Shepherd group, and I'm bringing Cricket along for the festivities. (There'll be two people per boat, so I think it's kayaking.. but not sure). I am NOT putting Cricket on a boat without a vest- that's not an option for me. She won't be in the water, but I want a vest on her, in case she falls in.

The bottom line is, I'm a teacher who works for the state, so my budget is limited. However, I'm not crazy enough to skimp to the point where it's dangerous for Cricket. She's a little pup- 23 pounds at 6 1/2 months. Her chest is 21.5 inches around, and her neck is about 14 inches around...

What size vest should I be looking at? (It seems ruffwear is the safest for bulldogs.. I tried the petco store brand and.. looking at how it fits, I see how it won't help her much in the water- her face is just going to go under, and that's what I need to avoid..)

Secondly, does anyone know where I could get a vest on a trial basis, just for this trip? I'm willing to pay for postage and rental fees for a vest that would fit Little Cricket. I'm stuck between a rock and a hard place. It's hard to justify a $55-70 purchase for something I'm not sure Cricket will use more than once.. I haven't tested her with water, really, so I don't know if she'll be a swimmer or not.. Can anyone help? I'd consider buying a vest, if I can get about 80% of the money back after I use it, provided I can sell it to someone who can use it...

Any suggestions or tips would be greatly appreciated...

Davidh

Head Pooper Scooper
Staff member
Mar 21, 2011
Katy, Texas
Country
USA
Bulldog(s) Names
BeBe, Hazel, Lucy Lu, JLO, Hillary, Henri, & Katie