DudleysMom

Community Veteran
Jun 25, 2012
Pennsauken, NJ
Country
USA
Bulldog(s) Names
Dudley, 12/26/2010-2/8/16; currently I have Kia, 7 yo femaie
I am so, so sorry about your Tyson. I have no experience, but I am so sorry you lost your baby. It was a heart-wrenching decision I know. I am sorry.

Mar 19, 2013
Country
Good old US of A
Bulldog(s) Names
Norman(RIP) & Jenkins
oh my goodness! How traumatic! And scary! Very sorry for your loss.

LuluMommaTonya

Nov 13, 2012
Indiana
Bulldog(s) Names
Lulu Mae
So very sorry for your loss. We had to put our beloved first "baby" down because of seizures. He was a Bassett Hound and he was epileptic. He did great on meds for 2 years. Then he got an almost direct spray from a skunk and the next day his seizures came back in clusters. They couldn't stop them, and then it got to the point that if they did stop, it wouldn't matter because his brain has suffered such irreversible damage. So, we were like you and had no choice but to end his suffering. It was terrible to experience and watch and I am so sorry you had to go through that. We are pretty certain that the direct skunk spray is what triggered the seizures coming back even though he was on meds. My Lulu had a day of seizure this spring that sent the terror right back into my heart. The vet thinks hers was triggered by sleep apnea and they have not come back (knock on wood!). I'm not a vet, but from what I was told with both dogs at different times from different vets was that if the seizures start coming close together in a cluster, that there will be more damage and they will be harder to stop. Their brain can get stuck in that horrible pattern of short circuiting. Your baby could have been having seizures for quite some time between lunch and you coming home. Maybe that is why his temp was so high? Once again, so very very sorry for your loss.

Texas Carol

Texas Carol....put the heart in EBN
Community Veteran
Jul 4, 2012
Central Texas
Country
USA
Bulldog(s) Names