Loose Stool

LarryZek

Sep 1, 2013
Brooklyn,NY
Country
USA
Bulldog(s) Names
Winston
I've been feeding Winston Royal Canin Bulldog Puppy food since I got him. He stool is always normal at first but then he poops a second time and it's soft. Is that normal in bulldogs? I've heard their stool is softer then other dogs.

BruceP

Aug 12, 2010
Milwaukee, WI
Bulldog(s) Names
HRH Princess Gracie, aka: HRH; Princess Amelia Pond, aka: Amy
Larry, Welcome. It could be caused by many things... one of the more common causes with puppies is overfeeding. Overall most common thing is food allergies. Lets start with overfeeding... How much are you giving him and how often..???
And how old is he??
@cowsmom

OP
L

LarryZek

Sep 1, 2013
Brooklyn,NY
Country
USA
Bulldog(s) Names
Winston
He is 5 1/2 months and gets about 1 1/4 cups of food 3 times a day.

HTX Bully

Aug 6, 2013
Houston, TX
Country
USA
Bulldog(s) Names
Holly
He is 5 1/2 months and gets about 1 1/4 cups of food 3 times a day.
I'm no expert but this seems like a lot of food to me. I would cut it back to 1 cup and see how Winston reacts.

Biggest thing I have picked up around here is observation. Continually watch and observe your pup. Check out the dog food ratings as well when you can. We feed our 16 month old sweetie 1 cup twice a day of Fromms Pork n Peas. She also gets grain free treats and plain yogurt. Hope that helped :)

BruceP

Aug 12, 2010
Milwaukee, WI
Bulldog(s) Names
HRH Princess Gracie, aka: HRH; Princess Amelia Pond, aka: Amy
He is pretty close to Amy in age.... she is about to be 6 months old this week. Amy gets 2/3 cups, 3 times a day of Fromm puppy gold in the pink bag. Im not that familiar with the Royal Canin Puppy but it might be worth trying cutting him back to 1 cup, x3. Better yet, as far as nutrition is concerned would be to do a slow transition to Fromm. Try cutting him back and see what happens.

cowsmom

Apr 27, 2011
Virginia
Country
usa
Bulldog(s) Names
Sarah aka cow