To Neuter or Not To Neuter

Kprice

May 22, 2013
Country
USA
Bulldog(s) Names
Ollie
Hi Everyone,

I'm new to the English Bulldog Community. Actually, Ollie is my first English Bulldog. He is turning 2 years old in July and I can't decide if I want to have him neutered.

He is pretty well behaved. He doesn't wonder or mount/hump people. The only issue I have is that there are certain dogs that he does not like. I have been socializing him since he was 11 weeks old. We've been to all sorts of training classes and boot camp. But he still shows aggression towards other dogs. More so on a leash.

Will neutering help? I'm also afraid if I neuter him that he won't be as active as he is now. He's a lot of fun!

Thanks.

linwhite

Sep 24, 2012
Tallahassee, FL
Bulldog(s) Names
Guido Zamboni - EB, Zoltan - Shortybull, Zeva - Frenchie
Neutering will probably lessen but may not do away with it totally. However, leaving him intact will possibly allow the behavior to worsen over time. He's actually at about the ideal age to have it done. Fully grown but young enough to still be flexible. Age will affect his activity level more than neutering as long as you don't let him get fat. I don't think you can totally train it out of him either. I have a male aggressive dog (Shortybull) and it's a pain. Taking him out in public anywhere is no fun at all and he only weighs about 30 pounds. If he was an EB it would be close to impossible.

Vince00

Community Veteran
Feb 14, 2012
Estevan, Sask
Bulldog(s) Names
Kain
I personally would for sure, lot of views on it but the frustration for him to breed and not allowed to is unnecessary. We did Kain at 6 months and would do again in a heartbeat.

Vikinggirl

Norwegian Rose
Community Veteran
Oct 8, 2012
Burlington, ON Canada
Country
Canada
Bulldog(s) Names
Bulldozer and Blossom
Re: spaying / neutering Bulldogs
Re: Neutering My Puppy..