Puppy Biting

usmc03grunt

Nov 27, 2012
Port Orange, Florida, United States
Bulldog(s) Names
Cammie and Gunny
I have a 12 week old as some may know now as I am a Newbie in the EB world named CAMMIE. Since she is going through her teething phase she is biting everything including my 4year old son. I've tried a few things but seem to not be working. These Dog Whisperer trainers seem like a joke to me due to the fact nothing has even come close to working. I need some serious help here before it gets worse oh and if anyone has tips on leash training that would be great too. Thanks all.

spork3127

Big Easy Brain Drain
Community Veteran
May 13, 2012
Rome, Ga
Bulldog(s) Names
Lady Ellie Mae McPigglesworth
A lot of people here will mention to redirect her to a toy when biting. If the biting is happening while playing, that's pretty normal, but again redirect to a toy that she can bite or even end the play time for a few minutes to let her calm down. We've tried a spray bottle with vinegar and squirting 1 squirt into the mouth when our Ellie would bite. It seemed to help at first, but eventually she just ignored it. Some have used an empty coke can with some pennies in it and they'll shake it when the biting happens.

As for leash walking, once Ellie was used to her collar, we would attach her leash and let her run around the house with the leash attached for 30 minutes or so at a time every night so that she could get used to the weight and it being there. It would just be dragging behind her and we wouldn't hold it. Obviously, do this while you're there to supervise. Then we slowly graduated to walking her across the kitchen/great room, down the hallway, fenced in back yard, etc. until we were comfortable to take her out into the neighborhood.

Both issues will take consistency, repetition, and patience. Hope this helps!

Last edited:

SunDog

Mar 26, 2011
California
Bulldog(s) Names
Lupe (or Lulu)