First Girl Bully...I have a ?

LuluMommaTonya

Nov 13, 2012
Indiana
Bulldog(s) Names
Lulu Mae
I have had boy bullies in the past, but I just got my first baby girl! Lulu Mae is 9 months old, and hasn't been spayed yet, but I would like to do that in December. The breeder said she had her first heat when she was 6-7 months old, but they weren't exactly sure when. I would like to wait until she has settled into our home more before I put her through surgery (she will need soft palate surgery done at the same time). Also, I am a teacher, and if we wait until Christmas break for her surgery, I can be home with her in case there are any complications. I really don't want her to have a second heat, though, so I am worried about waiting until the end of December. She will turn 1 year old on Jan. 22. Given that she had her first heat fairly early, do you think there is any chance that she would have a second heat before New Years? I'm afraid I'm new to this whole "girl thing" and don't know if it is possible for her to have 2 heats before her first birthday. Thanks for any help, and I look forward to being a regular around here!

Tonya

Jackieshoes

Sep 30, 2012
Mississippi
Bulldog(s) Names
Dexter
The only thing I know FOR SURE is that they will still spay her if she's in heat. The recovery from just the spay isn't bad but idk about the palette surgery.

cali baker

Worlds Greatest Chef
Feb 25, 2011
The Crown City (Pasadena)
Country
United States
Bulldog(s) Names
Tate Rory & Finn Paddington
I do not have experience w/the females but let's tag some folks who do: [MENTION=2014]JeannieCO[/MENTION], [MENTION=2071]Davidh[/MENTION], [MENTION=2]desertskybulldogs[/MENTION]

bullmama

Owner/Administrator
Staff member
Community Veteran
Jan 28, 2010
Tucson, Arizona
Country
USA
Bulldog(s) Names
The Home of the Desert Sky Pack
The chances are in your favor for her not to go into heat until after, but it is still certainly a possibility.

babybully

May 31, 2011