Slow Feed Bowl Recommendations

sheshistory

Jul 11, 2010
Vermont
Country
United States
Bulldog(s) Names
Bentley, Linus, Truman
I thought Linus was the biggest pig I have ever seen eat. He literally snorts like a pig in anticipation of his food. Then Truman came along and the speed of his eating puts Linus to shame.

I know this is not good for him and can cause major problems, like bloat, so I was wondering how many use slow feed bowls (or puzzle feeders) and if you might recommend a specific kind? I have seen a few options but, given the bulldog's unique snout, I am guessing some work better than others. I have zero experience with them.

Thanks!

Libra926

Pistol Packing Bullyagrapher
Staff member
May 5, 2010
Washington
Country
United States
Bulldog(s) Names
Vegas and Orion
Last edited:

bullmama

Owner/Administrator
Staff member
Community Veteran
Jan 28, 2010
Tucson, Arizona
Country
USA
Bulldog(s) Names
The Home of the Desert Sky Pack
Never heard of these before! Mandy needs one!

reallyrob

Community Veteran
Apr 15, 2010
Southern Illinois/Florida
Bulldog(s) Names
Princess Alberta (Bertie) Barkghesi
I bought a ball that goes in the dish and it slows them down. The ball is very heavy and takes up a lot of room in bowl....the dog has to maneuver around it to eat. It has really helped alot in slowing down Bertie.

Bella'sMom

Community Veteran
Jun 23, 2010
Eau Claire WI
Bulldog(s) Names
Abby 13 (RIP), Bella (6), Betsy( RIP), Frenchie: Oliver
I just finished talking about these on another post. I use the first one Libra uses. It is harder for their smushy faces, but the only one that works for Bella. We first bought the SS one with just a hump in the middle. (I prefer SS to plastic) however it is designed for the dry food to move (slide) around the hump and the dog has to move with it. By the time Bella's enzymes are incubated, the food is real moist and sticky, thus not sliding around the hump. It works real good for my Grand-dog and his dry food.