Mila, The Deaf Jaws on paws, need help

gobronco

Dec 16, 2011
San Jose, Ca
Country
USA
Bulldog(s) Names
Mila and Bruno
We have had Mila for about a week and a half. We have finally realized that she is not just a puppy that is too distracted to listen. She is deaf. We have never had a deaf dog before so we are looking for as much information as we can find. Mila is such a sweet girl we do not want to give her back to the breeder. She loves to play with Rudy, cuddle up in our laps and do all of the other fun things Bulldog puppies do.. Any information on how to train Etc. a deaf 11 week old puppy would be greatly appreciated.
coke.jpgdeck.jpglegbite.jpg

Texkota

Jun 21, 2012
South Riding, VA
Bulldog(s) Names
Renzo
I have no experience with deaf animals, I know that there is no way I could ever give her back. She's too precious.

cowsmom

Apr 27, 2011
Virginia
Country
usa
Bulldog(s) Names
Sarah aka cow
aw how precious. ive no experience really with a deaf dog just blind ones. i think people teach them hand signals. im sure someone will be along later to help you.

RiiSi

Community Veteran
Sep 30, 2011
Sysmä
Country
Finland
Bulldog(s) Names
Taisto, Kylli, Salli, Angel-Usko and Angel-Voitto
Usko's sister is deaf and as it happens she is here with me at the moment for "day care". It's the first time for me so I have no wisdom here yet, but it's funny how I still try to use verbal commands:D and of course they are useless. Maybe her owner will tell me some tips to give you. I have one funny video, if he let's me to share that with you I will. One thing that I know is that it helps to have another dog to teach her dog stuff. Anyway Welma is very clever, sweet and stubborn girl.
To make this "day care" extra special I think she is coming to heat or really Usko think's so... I had to put Usko in his crate, bc he was all over her and she didn't really mind...

Vicaroo1000

"Slug Assassin" and PBS Gardening Dweeb
Jun 23, 2011
Mukilteo, Washington State
Bulldog(s) Names