Adopted a 3 year old bulldog and have questions.

Fontanafox

Jan 25, 2011
Fontana, CA
Bulldog(s) Names
Wilson & BabyGirl
f8d44126.jpg

OP
J

jw570

Mar 21, 2012
Bulldog(s) Names
Lucy
Here is another question: Should I close her crate door (so she doesn't go in) while we are home so she explores some more? Or will this confuse her even more?

Thanks

JeannieCO

Queenie
Mar 11, 2011
Tip of the Mitt, Michigan
Country
USA
Bulldog(s) Names
Emma, Charlie, Milo, Peekaboo and Jack
Here is another question: Should I close her crate door (so she doesn't go in) while we are home so she explores some more? Or will this confuse her even more?

Thanks
I'm no expert here on this but if it was my Lucy, I would leave it open for a week or two giving her time to adjust to her new home.

BruceP

Aug 12, 2010
Milwaukee, WI
Bulldog(s) Names
HRH Princess Gracie, aka: HRH; Princess Amelia Pond, aka: Amy
I'm no expert here on this but if it was my Lucy, I would leave it open for a week or two giving her time to adjust to her new home.

Agree... then start closing it while you are with her.

JeannieCO

Queenie
Mar 11, 2011
Tip of the Mitt, Michigan
Country
USA
Bulldog(s) Names
Emma, Charlie, Milo, Peekaboo and Jack
Another thing, after Lucy starts setting in and isn't always rushing to her crate for a her safe spot, you can leave the door open while your there too. My guys love to go into their crate when we're home to take a nap. Lucy is different though and needs to learn that she can trust you and her new enviroment. :hug: to Lucy!

OP
J

jw570

Mar 21, 2012
Bulldog(s) Names
Lucy
Thanks for all the great advise. If anyone has anything to add it would be appreciated!!!

Pictures coming soon!

aprilemari

Community Veteran
Sep 11, 2011
Boston, MA
Country
USA
Bulldog(s) Names
Lola & Fox