Puppy breathing heavy and fast while sleeping

eversolulu

Jan 25, 2012
Denver, Colorado, United States
Bulldog(s) Names
Talon
I'm really new to owning an English Bulldog, and I've only had my baby girl Talon for a day. I've read up on English Bulldogs a lot while getting her but I haven't come across this problem, normally during the day, she's fine, normal little snorts here and there. But while she's sleeping, she starts breathing really fast and hard, I'm worried because it just sounds like she's having such a hard time breathing and I'm not sure if that's normal or if she's too hot or something. Anyone have any input on why she's doing that?

JAKEISGREAT

Mar 25, 2011
Southern California
Bulldog(s) Names
Jake
Congratulations on your new pup! Have you taken her to your vet for a check up? It's important to do when you first get them just to make sure what the breeder told you is true and to get your pup off to a healthy start. Plus..it will save you worrying!

Jack Daniels

Community Veteran
Sep 1, 2011
Miami Florida
Bulldog(s) Names
Jack Daniels
It sounds like she's just dreaming. She is in a new home and new surroundings so most probably she's running around in her dreams chasing a squirrel.......

Im sure she's ok.... Let us know tomorrow if she does the same....

Davidh

Head Pooper Scooper
Staff member
Mar 21, 2011
Katy, Texas
Country
USA
Bulldog(s) Names
BeBe, Hazel, Lucy Lu, JLO, Hillary, Henri, & Katie
Welcome and congrats on the new pup. This sounds normal, but never hurts to have her checked out which is a good idea for a new pup. Just to make sure her nostrils aren't too narrow, (which can be fixed) or she does not have an elongated pallot, (which also can be fixed). I am assuming she is only 8 to 12 weeks old?? If so they do tend to breath a little fast went they sleep. Please post pics of that little cutie, before the pic police get a hold of you. :tease: Make yourself at home and post away.

2BullyMama

I'm not OCD....now who moved my bulldog?