Jburks

Jan 1, 2019
Country
United States
Bulldog(s) Names
Penny
Hello, I am new to the English Bulldog breed and looking for help. My 5 month old puppy seems to be allergic to chicken. Her food is Science Diet for Puppy. About 4 days ago she swelled up and broke out in hives all over her body. I took her to the vet and they gave her a steroid shot and said she probably got bit by something that sheā€™s allergic to. The swelling started to slowly go down, but the evening came and i fed her dinner and the swelling and hives came right back. I stopped feeding her puppy food and started her on a clean diet consisting of cooked 93/7 ground beef and white rice. All of the swelling and hives are gone. So, my question is...do you think sheā€™s allergic to the chicken? And whatā€™s another dog food i can try that wonā€™t cause an allergic reaction? Thank you in advance!

Manydogs

Community Veteran
May 2, 2013
Tennessee
Country
U.S.A.
Bulldog(s) Names
Maudee,MarthaKatie,Lizzie,Bro.Mini
[MENTION=18784]Jburks[/MENTION] I have never given my dogs a chicken based meal, but many bullies are allergic to chicken. Science diet is also a crappy food. I would get her on a grain free,maybe a fish/salmon based food. Many others here will have a suggestion too.Many Vets recommend Science Diet because they make a commision. I would not give it to her again.

Kimberlie

Aug 15, 2015
Country
Usa
Bulldog(s) Names
Murphy Hudson Nash & Milton Virgil