Rachel Rays Dog Food & Allergies

danton

Jan 22, 2015
Country
US
Bulldog(s) Names
Duke
Hi all,

I have been feeding my bullie Rachel Rays for the past 8 months or so, recently he has developed a nasty ear infection. The vet pointed to some type of allergy he has, but of course was unable to pin point it. I've already bought Nuvet supplements, but am considering changing food.

Does anyone have any recommendations or heard negative things about Rachel Ray & bulldogs?

Thanks in advance.

TyTysmom

Nov 4, 2014
Katy, TX
Country
USA
Bulldog(s) Names
Tyson aka "Ty-Ty"
Hi all,

I have been feeding my bullie Rachel Rays for the past 8 months or so, recently he has developed a nasty ear infection. The vet pointed to some type of allergy he has, but of course was unable to pin point it. I've already bought Nuvet supplements, but am considering changing food.

Does anyone have any recommendations or heard negative things about Rachel Ray & bulldogs?

Thanks in advance.

I believe Rachel Ray is rated like a 2 or 2.5 - which isn't great. I would definitely switch over a higher quality food, like Fromms, Taste of the Wild, etc. I noticed the RR has chicken meal, rice, corn - all those are big allergy triggers for bullies. I'd go grain free... you can find retailers online through the Fromms website. Or any specialty pet store should carry. You won't find the higher quality foods at the grocery store, or Petsmart, Petco. My neighbor down the street fed her bully RR - she didn't have alot problems per say, but once she felt Tyson, and saw his coat vs. hers, she switched over, and it made a big difference. Her bully wasn't as rough to the touch anymore, much softer and didn't have hot spots anymore! You should see a huge difference in allergies, and yeast once on a better food. May not be 100% but definitely noticeable.

Here's a link from the forum regarding foods & their ratings:

English Bulldog News Forums - Dog Food Ratings at English Bulldog News

cali baker