pupy acts like he is starving?

My puppy is 9 weeks old and we switched him to Avoderm when he got here about a week ago. The avoderm feeding guideline says 1/3-1 cup a day (seems like such a little bit) I have been giving him a little over a cup for about 2 days since we made the total switch from eukanuba.

I was feeding the other dogs a few minutes ago and the puppy lost his mind. He was acting like he was starving and wanted their food. He was already done eating for the day. Is this normal behavior? Or is he really starving? With the Eukanuba he was getting 2 1/4 cups a day based on the feeding guideline. Should I supplement with some veggies or snacks? I did buy the avoderm treats and ended up giving him one because i felt bad. He almost ripped my hand off he couldn't get to it fast enough.

Also when he eats he eats super fast like he hasn't eaten for days. Any advice????

bfletch13

Community Veteran
Dec 19, 2010
Arkansas
Bulldog(s) Names
Jozi, Wales
I'm new to this too. But I know on our food
it says this is just a guideline. Adjust to your
dogs needs.

I think if it were that hungry I would give a bit
more. Definitely not double it or anything like that.
Wonder if he just needs a bit more time for his
stomach to get use to the smaller serving.

Gertie's Mom

Community Veteran
Jul 17, 2010
SanTan Valley, Az.
Bulldog(s) Names
Gertie & Ida
It's been a while since my girls were 9 weeks old, they're 7 months old now. I think I gave them around 1/2 a cup per feeding back then. Now they get a cup and 1/4 in the morning and a cup at night. 2-2 1/4 cups at 9 weeks sounds like too much to me. They DO eat very fast, I don't think either one of them chews at all. And they both do act like they haven't eaten in days while I'm fixing their food. But they're both doing really well on what they get, so I know they're not going hungry.

kazzy220

Jul 31, 2010
Grafton, OHIO
Country
England
Bulldog(s) Names