Help Needed! Food Allergies??

rbhII

Aug 25, 2012
Arkansas via New Jersey
Bulldog(s) Names
Dexter
Hey guys. My boss recently moved across the country and couldn't take his 2 yro bully. Was tore up about it and wanted him to go to a good home so I adopted the guy. He's been fed Science Diet Sensitive Skin. Which I know isn't a good food for bulldogs. His jaws are slightly pink and he's breaking out in pimples along his stomach. He also licks his face quite often. Does it sound to you that it is food allergies?

I'm a poor graduate student, but will do anything in my power to make sure he's at the best health. I've bought and am going to switch his food to AvoDerm grain-free dry dog food. Should I gradually ease him off the Science Diet or just drop it and start with the AvoDerm?

This is my first post and I am thankful for coming across this site. I know I'll be able to learn a lot and be able to provide the best care for the lil guy. Thank you all for the help.

RescueMe

Community Veteran
Mar 2, 2011
Chaffee, MO
Bulldog(s) Names
Lola Blue, Mojo Titus and Gracie,Caleb, Bogart and Ziggy forever in my heart Roxy and Rollo
I would do a slow switch. Bless you for giving him a home.

RescueMe

Community Veteran
Mar 2, 2011
Chaffee, MO
Bulldog(s) Names
Lola Blue, Mojo Titus and Gracie,Caleb, Bogart and Ziggy forever in my heart Roxy and Rollo
Oh we love pics here. Cant wait to see a pic

2BullyMama

I'm not OCD....now who moved my bulldog?
Staff member
Community Veteran
Jul 28, 2011
Gilbertsville, PA
Country
USA
Bulldog(s) Names
Chelios (Frenchie), Cubby (Frenchie) Nitschke (2004-2011) Banks (2005-2014) and Lambeau (2014-2024)
Oh Food Guru.... Queen of they intestine --- [MENTION=2291]cowsmom[/MENTION]!

Welcome to EBN and the wonderful world of bulldogs.... sandy will be along to help with the food questions. as for allergies, a lot of bullies are sensitive to chicken and grains

loveabully

Community Veteran
Jul 20, 2012
california
Country
USA
Bulldog(s) Names