Loose stool from food.

petee2

Mar 26, 2012
Scott Township, PA
Bulldog(s) Names
Petee
Hi, Petee is 6 months old and weighs 33 pounds. He is eating Nature's Variety Instinct Beef and Lamb meal (37 %protein). He eats 2 cups twice a day. He would eat more if I gave it to him. The problem is loose stool, like soft serve ice cream, and gas. it will get watery diarrhea atleast 3 times a week. Imagine pooper scooping! I do give pumpkin to get it more formed and it does help but it seems that I would have to give it every meal every day for it to work all the time. He also has tear stains! Ugh! I have tried switching to the salmon formula but it didn't change anything other then he smelled like fish! Could it be the high protein bothering him? Am I feeding him to much, not enough or is this food just not for him? Help!

Corlando465

Feb 16, 2012
Lexington, KY
Bulldog(s) Names
Tank
I'm not an expert but you may be over feeding, which will cause the described tummy issues. I feed Fromms and my guy is 36 lbs and gets 2 1/4 cups a day - 1 1/4 in the morning and 1 cup at night. He always wants more, as do most bullies, but that is all he needs. What does the feeding guideline on the bag indicate for his weight and activity level? The amount shown is usually the daily amount to feed and it should be split into the number of times you feed him. If you are within the guidelines, they maybe that brand is not agreeing with him and you should consider another option. Hope the scooping improves soon ;)

JAKEISGREAT

Mar 25, 2011
Southern California
Bulldog(s) Names
Jake