Effects of food changes???

Danny Nystrand

Jan 5, 2012
Destin, Florida, United States
Bulldog(s) Names
Mighty Samson
I recently read somewhere that changing your dog's diet too much, particularly earlier in life, can cause allergies. Other than short term upset stomachs and digestive problems caused by a sudden switch when not gradually changing foods I've never heard of any long term negative effects like this before. In fact, I've also read that a change every once in a while can be a good thing (but then again, I'm not so sure about that either). Does anyone know if there's any validity to this? And while we're on the subject of dog foods causing long term negative effects, is there any validity to the notion of "all life stage" dog foods such as, lets say Taste of the Wild, causing hip and joint problems in English bulldogs later in life when fed to them as a puppy?

Last edited:

JAKEISGREAT

Mar 25, 2011
Southern California
Bulldog(s) Names
Jake
Hi! I am not a food expert..but I'm sure those more knowledgable people will chime in soon. My vet puts her Bully pups (and she has a lot in her practice) on all stage food as early as 10 weeks. Even sooner if they come home on a crappy food
like Iams..like my Jake did. She has all ages of Bullys in her practice and she is a pretty conservative vet. I agree with a slow change whenever you must switch. Sometimes you have to kiss a lot of frogs before you ind the correct food for your individual dog...I don't think careful switches done for the right reasons will hurt your dog..in my opinion! :up:

TessaAndSamson

May 7, 2010
Southern California
Bulldog(s) Names
Samson