Need advice on trimming nails

EoinChaver51

Feb 23, 2014
Country
United States
Bulldog(s) Names
Hank
Hi, I'm new to this forums and I'm also new to owning an english bulldog. We got Hank (my bulldog) 2 months ago from a guy my mom worked with who wasn't able to handle him due to kids. Hank is 1 year old so we've been trying to train him the best we can but he is stubborn lol. Our issue now is nail trimming. When we got him his nails were very short we aren't sure if they brought him to a groomer or brought him to just the vet to do it but now he needs them done again. We are unable to do it on our own as he turns into the Tasmanian devil when he sees the clippers and especially when we try to grab his paws and put the trimmer up to it. In a nutshell he hates the trimmers and really doesn't like people touching his paws. If anyone could give me some advice it would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

B

Baxter Tiberius

Juust do one nail at a time. I get down there, and get one clipped really quick, then I get up, and walk away for awhile.

By the end of the day they're all done. Works like a charm. There's no way in hell he'd sit there for all 4 feet at once.

aprilemari

Community Veteran
Sep 11, 2011
Boston, MA
Country
USA
Bulldog(s) Names
Lola & Fox
we started off one nail at a time too, but we give treats to distract, even if that nail hadn't been clipped yet, keep the treats coming. i used to rip them up into tiny pieces. now Lola let's me do almost one whole paw on one treat. you can also try massaging his hands when its not nail time to get him used to them being touched.

Sent from my DROID3 using Tapatalk 2

aprilemari

Community Veteran
Sep 11, 2011
Boston, MA
Country
USA
Bulldog(s) Names
Lola & Fox
we even use the nail file when we're done ;):D

Sent from my DROID3 using Tapatalk 2

bluesteelapd

May 1, 2010
New Jersey
Bulldog(s) Names
Mona Lisa and Leonardo