Breeding Questions / Needed Expert Input

bullieboy

Sep 22, 2011
hey guys i have an almost 3 year old male bulldog and i've collected his semen and am prepared to use it for puppies. this is my first time doing this sort of thing and i would love as much info and schooling on this subject that i can get. my reason for studding my dog out is so i can obtain one of his puppies. that being said i had some questions that i wanted to ask before i even think about starting this whole process.

since i own the male, all i really need to do is supply the semen that is to be artificially inseminated into the female and then hope she takes... but is there any more duties or responsibilities that i will need to do in the pregnancy and birthing process?

this question is more intended for people with experience in breeding.. what kinds of deals should i be looking at between me and the females owner. should i only charge a stud fee?... should i demand a certain amount of puppies that are to be born? should i do first pick of the litter? what are the usual agreements between owners on this subject?

and before anybody says anything.. i will never sell my puppies to people that i don't think is right to own a bulldog. my puppies are forever going to stay out of an animal shelter and pet store and only going to people that can love and care for them. if there isn't even a market for puppies at the moment then i simply won't stud my dog out until there is.. i really want to do this right and the responsible way

dozersmama

Supreme Overlord of Awesomeness
Community Veteran
Dec 31, 2010
Illinois
Bulldog(s) Names
???