what to do?

trevor

May 2, 2010
ottawa, canada
Bulldog(s) Names
peaches and wessely
i have a bitch who i plan to breed in the fall but i am having a hard time finding a good stud or a good stud service that doesen't make me feel like i will get ripped off or left feeling stupid. i am new to bulldogs but not to breeding,(i bred pit bulls before the ban and my family bred samoyds when i was a kid) i've done my research, i just feel that the private stud owners want too much for too little and the larger kennels want to make it too hard and expensive for anyone to do right.
and if nothing else i want to be known for healthy and long lived animals.
i believe now that my best option would be to bring semen in from europe, but then am i getting the semen i paid for or the guys donkey in the back yard
any thoughts?

Bulldogg

Administrator
Staff member
Jan 27, 2010
Arizona
Bulldog(s) Names
Molly, Mandy, Jesse, Yuna & Tidus
It is very hard to find a stud service, and even more difficult to find one that will not rip you off. With artificial insemination, this is very easy for them to do.

I would continue to call around locally. Find one that will not only allow you to be present during insemination, but talk to them and get to know them well before you breed.

Breeding any other type of dog is nothing like breeding bullies. NOTHING like it. So it is important that you develop an excellent relationship with a breeder of bulldogs, so they can mentor you through the process. It is so important. So you are at the HARDEST part. Finding a trustworthy, helpful breeder. Do not go with a "stud" for hire. Go with a breeder.

It is very scary anyway, no matter what breeder/stud you choose. Trust is always going to be an issue in the bully world unfortunately, because so many breeders are in it for the dollars and not the bullies.

bustarop

Apr 4, 2010
Arizona
Bulldog(s) Names
Buster; Star; Opal