did you teach your dogs to sit

dozersmama

Supreme Overlord of Awesomeness
Community Veteran
Dec 31, 2010
Illinois
Bulldog(s) Names
???
I'm new to all of this and trying to figure it all out. I've found a class we will attend ( once I have a puppy) . I've read different opinions teaching sit or not to teach the sit command to a dog you plan to show. I guess the idea is you dont want them to sit in the ring. Others say teach it , but also teach a stand command. What do you do?

Vikinggirl

Norwegian Rose
Community Veteran
Oct 8, 2012
Burlington, ON Canada
Country
Canada
Bulldog(s) Names
Bulldozer and Blossom
I'm not sure about a show dog, or what the rules are for showing your dog, but I did teach my two the sit command, using treats.

Davidh

Head Pooper Scooper
Staff member
Mar 21, 2011
Katy, Texas
Country
USA
Bulldog(s) Names
BeBe, Hazel, Lucy Lu, JLO, Hillary, Henri, & Katie
It doesn't really matter, because once they learn what to do in the ring it's not a problem, because your not going to give the "sit" command in the ring. :2thumbs:

Piamitch

Sep 5, 2010
New Jersey
Bulldog(s) Names
Ruckus
Can't help with show dogs, but teaching sit was very important in our house. I put my dogs in a sit before everything they do. Before they're food gets put down, they sit. Before I throw a ball/toy they sit. Before the door to go out opens they sit. But have no idea if your showing them.

OP
dozersmama

dozersmama

Community Veteran
Dec 31, 2010
Illinois
Bulldog(s) Names
???
Thanks everyone. [MENTION=2071]Davidh[/MENTION] there is sooo much to learn I almost feel lost. Just chosing a show lead ( what type ect. ) is almost overwhelming. Am I just over thinking all of this?

Davidh

Head Pooper Scooper
Staff member
Mar 21, 2011
Katy, Texas
Country
USA
Bulldog(s) Names
BeBe, Hazel, Lucy Lu, JLO, Hillary, Henri, & Katie
[MENTION=1665]dozersmama[/MENTION] the best way is to just go to shows and talk to people who show and see what they use and get their opinions.

OP
dozersmama